SelfHelpMe


Friday and The Infinite Wisdom of Others

Posted in self help by Steph Auteri on December 2, 2007
Tags:

friday's wisdom.
I recently read a post on doshdosh focusing upon the concept of using editorial calendars to build blog readership. It’s something I’ve been considering since I began this blog, not only to keep readers coming back because of the promise of regular content, but also to get myself on track. As you can see from the dearth of new posts lately, it’s been tough making my blog a priority amongst the craziness of all other priorities, especially with the stress of the holidays encroaching (magical stress though; Christmas is always magical). Still, if I’m going to make this work, and make this blog an important part of my life, I’m going to have to get my butt in gear.

doshdosh gives a good number of recommendations for the various types of regular posts one could include on a regular calendar: Interviews, user polls, comic strips, and contests are only a few of the things he lists. I would definitely suggest checking it out if you’re struggling with the same issues as me; it’s a wealth of good advice.

In the meantime, however, as I pulll together my own editorial calendar, please bear with me. And let’s all just ignore the fact that I’m posting a Friday column on a Sunday (oopsie!).

Moving right along, I found this pretty awesome blog the other day (stumbleupon is my favorite) with a post on how to command respect. Posts are only once a week (like I should talk), but the content is well written and incredibly helpful. In this particular post, our guru of happiness lists a number of ways to naturally project that self-confidence and charisma you know you have somewhere in you, focusing on posture, eye contact, and more. Apparently, I hide behind my hands or my hair when I’m speaking to a group, so perhaps this post is especially worth my time. (People are scary!!!)

Gretchen over at the Happiness Project hit close to home with a post on giving up “fake food.” She goes beyond exploring the unhealthiness of processed foods and, instead, touches upon those pangs of guilt she feels upon giving in to temptation. I could understand where she was coming from, as I had made an attempt about a year ago to stop eating all that crap. I didn’t last long, however and, slowly, aided by my office’s close proximity to Jack’s 99-cent store, Fluffy Stuff and Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies crept back into my life.

Linda Formichelli over at the Renegade Writer Blog wrote a post on getting rid of the little things that bother us, thereby making a pretty big difference in our quality of life. While her focus was on the niggling things that keep freelancers from their productivity, I thought her suggestion to write up a list of annoyances and then tackle them one by one was no-duh, yet surprisingly revelatory. I’m a huge proponent of taking action, rather than playing the victim…and I love writing lists, so I can’t believe I never thought to do such a thing before. Especially since I’ve always been especially good at overcoming the far larger grievances in my path.

Finally, I’m going to be all weird and link to a post from Gawker, of all things. In the post that caught my eye, they sneer over an e-mail by Neil Strauss glorifying his discovery of the meaning of life and the key to happiness. In it, Strauss writes about balance, and its place in making us happier. In fact, he actually lists all the things one should spend time on each day, in order to maintain the ideal amount of balance:

“Even if you love your work, you can’t spend the entirety of every day working. You can’t spend it partying or sarging either, as fun as that may be. However, you’ll find that if each day, you productively do something in each of the following areas, your mood and confidence and charisma and happiness and inner game will skyrocket:

1. Work

2. Physical (exercise, running, swimming, a sport)

3. Social (and, yes, that can include Rules Of The Game missions)

4. Creativity or Education (whether it’s writing, making music, cooking, programming, taking classes, or learning another language)

5. Relaxation, whether it’s reading a book or watching TV or playing Wii Tennis or staring at the wall and contemplating life or lying in the sun and thinking about nothing.

So, your mission over the holidays:

Make a list of the specific things that make you happy and balanced in each of these categories, and then make an effort to comfortably fit them all into your schedule at least five days a week. Most of these areas don’t need to take more than half an hour each day. And chances are you’re doing at least two of them a day anyway.”

Thanks guys!

2 Responses to 'Friday and The Infinite Wisdom of Others'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Friday and The Infinite Wisdom of Others'.


  1. Thank *you* for fixing the scroll button thingys on your site. It’s much easier to navigate now!

  2. stephanerd said,

    yeah, that i-frame thingy was really annoying. turns out that i just had to decrease the size of some of my photos!


Leave a Reply

