SelfHelpMe


How to Find More Time, Part Eight — Play

Posted in self help by Steph Auteri on February 25, 2008
Tags: , ,

clock.

Hallelujah people, we’ve finally made it.

Because all work and no play means that you obviously don’t have enough toy–um, I mean, you’re working too damn hard, here I present to you the natural conclusion of Laura Stack’s Find More TimePlay. Because when you’ve mastered efficiency, you might actually have the time for it.

  • Create a wall between Life and Work. At the moment, I have been working since 8:30 this morning (and it is now 9:30 at night; ignore the time stamp on this post). I woke up and immediately started blogging for the Modern Materialist, then traveled into the city to proofread pieces at the paper (say that three times fast), then made my way back here where I’ve since been catching up on other blogging and freelance responsibilities. I am pooped. So…do as I say, not as I do.
  • Take a vacation. It’s good for you to get away and recharge every once in awhile. Michael (the hubby) and I plan on taking one major vacation each year. We’ve already drawn up a wish list that includes a Disney cruise, a road trip through the southwest, a trip to Portland, etc. We knocked Burning Man off the list because we were afraid we might die in the middle of the desert.
  • Just say no! I believe we’ve gone through this one before, but it bears repeating. Cut back on your commitments if they’re unenjoyable and overwhelming! Make times for the things that benefit you holistically.
  • Take a ‘Just Me’ Day. Every month. Just do it. (This is the opposite of “just say no.”)
  • And finally, Carpe Diem. This makes me think of Dead Poets’ Society, which I love, because I’m a writing dork, and that one scene where everyone stands on their chairs gets me all worked up. But seriously. Since I’m telling you to say no, I want to make sure you’re saying no to the right things (or would they be considered the wrong things?). Say yes to everything else. Your life will become richer for it.
Leave a Reply

